Photo File
(Click for high-res
JPG image)

AES President-Elect 2020, Jonathan Wyner


Press Release
Contact: Robert Clyne
Tel: (615) 662-1616 x17




AES Announces Results of 2019 Elections and Bylaws Initiative

New York, NY, July 24, 2019 — The Audio Engineering Society has announced the incoming Officers and Governors following the 2019 Board of Governors elections, with terms beginning January 1, 2020. The Society’s membership has elected Jonathan Wyner as President-Elect and re-elected Richard Wollrich as Treasurer. Additionally, Thomas Görne has been re-elected as Vice President Central Region, Europe; Cesar Lamschtein has been re-elected as Vice President Latin America Region; Shusen Wang has been re-elected as Vice President Asia-Pacific Region; Ian Corbett will join the Board of Governors as Vice President Central Region, USA/Canada; and Alberto Pinto will join the Board as Vice President Southern Europe/Middle East/Africa Region. Newly elected Governors are Brecht De Man, Valeria Palomino and Magdalena Piotrowska. Save for the President-Elect, each newly-elected individual will serve a two-year term, while those re-elected will have their current term of office extended for two years. Wyner will serve a year as President-Elect, in 2021 as President, in 2022 as Past-President and two-years as a Governor.

Outgoing from the Board of Governors as regional Vice Presidents are Ufuk Önen (Southern Europe/Middle East/Africa Region) and Mike Porter (Central Region, USA/Canada). Governors with terms ending at the end of 2019 are Martha de Francisco, Kyle P. Snyder and, as he assumes the position of President-Elect, Jonathan Wyner. Additionally, Governor (and Past President, twice removed) John Krivit will complete his five-year commitment to the BoG, while Current Past President David Scheirman will transition to Governor for the first year of a two-year term.

“The Society owes a debt of gratitude to all those who have served on the Board of Governors,” says AES President Nadja Wallaszkovits, “as well as those continuing to serve. We also sincerely appreciate the entire slate of outstanding candidates on the 2019 ballot for their commitment to the AES, and we congratulate our newly-elected Governors and Directors. I look forward to their contributions as we work together in the coming year."

Per the AES bylaws amendment passed in the 2019 elections, the Society’s governing structure will be revised to conform to legal requirements, effective in August of 2019. A newly formed Board of Directors (BoD), the governing body of the Society, will consist of the Society’s Member-elected officers plus two Directors to be elected by the Board of Governors (BoG). Those eligible to become BoG-elected Directors must be either a current or recent member of the BoG. The Board of Governors (BoG) will retain many of its current responsibilities and will continue to be composed of the Regional Vice Presidents and Governors-at-large, along with the members of the BoD. The responsibilities currently held by the Executive Committee of the BoG, which will cease to exist, will be filled primarily by the BoD.

The election was monitored, and the results presented, by Gary Louie, Chair of the AES’s Tellers Committee.

For more information on the Audio Engineering Society, please visit www.aes.org.

...ends 471 words

The 2020 Audio Engineering Society Board of Directors will be:
Agnieszka Roginska: President
Nadja Wallaszkovits: Past President
Jonathan Wyner: President-Elect
Valerie Tyler: Secretary
Richard Wollrich: Treasurer
Two additional Directors will be named by the Board of Governors per the new AES Bylaws.

In addition to the Directors listed above, the 2020 Board of Governors will be:
Ian Corbett: Vice President, Central Region, USA/Canada
Thomas Görne: Vice President, Central Region, Europe
Gary Gottlieb: Vice President, Eastern Region, USA/Canada
Alex Kosiorek: Vice President, Western Region, USA/Canada
Cesar Lamschtein: Vice President, Latin American Region
Per Sjösten: Vice President, Northern Region, Europe
Alberto Pinto: Vice President, Southern Europe/Middle East/Africa Region
Shusen Wang: Vice President, Asia-Pacific Region
Alex U. Case: Governor
Brecht De Man: Governor
Leslie Gaston-Bird: Governor  
Jessica Livingston: Governor
Piper Payne: Governor
Valeria Palomino: Governor  
Magdalena Piotrowska: Governor  
David W. Scheirman: Governor

Photo File: Wyner.JPG
Photo Caption: AES President-Elect 2020, Jonathan Wyner

About the Audio Engineering Society
The Audio Engineering Society, celebrating over 70 years of audio excellence, now counts over 12,000 members throughout the U.S., Latin America, Europe, Japan and the Far East. The organization serves as the pivotal force in the exchange and dissemination of technical information for the industry. Currently, its members are affiliated with 90 AES professional sections and more than 120 AES student sections around the world. Section activities include guest speakers, technical tours, demonstrations and social functions. Through local AES section events members experience valuable opportunities for professional networking and personal growth. For additional information, visit aes.org.

Join the conversation and keep up with the latest AES News and Events:
Twitter: #AESorg (AES Official)
Facebook: http://facebook.com/AES.org

AES Marketing Communications:
Email: robert.clyne@aes.org
Tel: 615-662-1616, Fax: 615-662-1636,
Clyne Media, Inc.,
169-B Belle Forest Circle, Nashville, TN 37221;
Web: https://clynemedia.com



Copyright ©2019, Clyne Media, Inc., All Rights Reserved.